A HIDDEN GEM WITH A BIG HISTORY
Between the windswept shores of the South Atlantic and the vast Namib Desert, discover a quaint fishing village with a distinct German vibe and a rich history rooted in the diamond rush.
Aside from the sandy streets and surrounding desert, much of Luderitz wouldn’t seem out of place in Munich or Berlin. Colourful colonial architecture remains from the scramble for Africa and the diamond rush in the early 1900s, when the town was German-controlled. The Deutsche Afrika Bank, Old Post Office, and Lutheran church overlooking the town and harbor are a few of many impressive buildings that echo this bygone era.
For coastal discoveries, head north to explore Agate Beach, or cross the causeway to Shark Island for incredible views of the bay and town. Further off the coast is rocky, windy, picturesque Diaz Point, where Bartolomeu Dias, believed to be the second European to reach Namibia, erected a cross in 1488.
Refuel in a cozy waterfront cafe with a strong Namibian coffee and enjoy serene seaside views, sip an ice cold Windhoek Lager—still brewed in accordance with Germany’s Beer Purity Law of 1516—or devour some fresh-caught seafood. Lobster, ultra-tender Namibian oysters (often called “the veal of shellfish”), and fish are plentiful as the town’s industry has shifted seaward.
One of the town’s “diamond palaces,” Goerke Haus was built in 1910 for Lieutenant Hans Goerke, the town’s first diamond company manager. Impressively forged into the rocky hills above Luderitz, discover a rich industrial and cultural history with a trip to this fascinating, fully restored home.
A true diamond in the rough. Explore this fascinating abandoned town outside Luderitz—once the focal point of Namibia’s diamond industry. Take an informative guided tour, enter structures literally being swept into the sands of time, and brace for a deeply surreal discovery of the people and industry that thrived in the diamond rush era.
A national monument and one of the oldest Lutheran churches in Namibia, Felsenkirche (“The Church on the Rocks”) was built in 1912 at the top of Diamond Hill. Gaze over Luderitz’s brightly-colored rooftops and scenic harbor for breathtaking views of the surrounding natural beauty.