Correct, Travel Expert!

Affectionately known as the “Auld Mug,” the America’s Cup was first awarded in 1851 and has been competed for 36 total times. After first winning the America’s Cup in 1851, the New York Yacht Club held the trophy until 1983, finally losing to the Royal Perth Yacht Club. Royal Perth is one of only three non-American yacht clubs to win the cup.

If you’re sailing on the 10-Night Turkey Day & West Indies Voyage on 21-November, 2016, you will have the opportunity to get a taste of the yacht-racing life. Take the Cruise Global, Connect LocalSM shore excursions America’s Cup Sailing Regatta tour on 26-November, 2016, and you’ll learn how to grind a winch and trim a sail, then compete in a real yacht race onboard an America’s Cup Challenge champion racer.

View Voyage

Choose Azamara®

For Your Next Voyage

Talk to an expert